The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Never tried a straight razor

Jaro1069

TSC's Cheerleader
Veteran
Hello all, I am curious about trying a straight razor any advice? PS.I am also very scared of them.

I'm just getting started myself, just a few weeks in.

Buy a vintage, it's cheaper! Make sure it's been recently honed.
(I think there are still some on offer in the BST sections)
Stretch your skin!
Start slow, just the cheeks.
Use more water in your soap. Soap feels totally different than with a DE.

It's spooky and I just stop and go to my DE when I find myself getting psyched out or have a close call.
Also the razor does seem to matter, I've got two, and one I just don't get on with nearly as well as the other.
I think half hollow is easier, I don't like the flex of the full I have, at least not yet.

Just finished my shave today, and wanted to add a couple of more thoughts.

Watching shave videos is good, especially to help work out grips and angles, but don't expect your early shaves to be anything like what you see. Some of the guys here are real masters.

You probably won't get long smooth strokes, especially if you have course hair. Short strokes and patience.

As @HMan said, buying a well honed vintage razor is a good way to start for sure. the more hollow the grind the more feedback you get from the blade, which can make it seem scarier than the heavy grinds, but a wedge will tend to just plow through anything. For sure Stretch the crap out of your skin and push your lathers water content for maximum slickness. Keep the razor almost laying flat on your face. only a few mm between your face and the spine. wet the blade before you start your pass and have the blade in motion before it touches skin.