The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

I'm No Good at Journals...

Luecke3262

“I am the Grail Razor Hunter”
Hobbyist
Hi all,

Matt here, I'm not very good at keeping up with Journals, but here we go....

For those of you that don't know me, I've been wet shaving for 8 years. I got into the hobby while trying to save BIG Money!!! As with most guys that start wet shaving, it quickly turned into a fantastic hobby. The guys on the forums, especially the founders have greatly exacerbated my acquisition disorders, beyond measure. I'm thankful for the wonderful community TSC has become and I'm really enjoying becoming a more active member of the discussion.

I enjoy the hunt for vintage shaving and barber items and it has been a pleasure to pick up so fantastic scores! I'll try to share my scores on this page as well as my daily shaves(Likely won't be daily, but one can hope).

I also enjoy restoring straight razors, brushes, and strops. Though, I'm more apt to purchase New Old Stock razors or blades that need much less work now days. Though, if I were retired, I think I'd buy ratty old razors an restore them completely as a daily side hustle.

Shave #1

Razor: Ern 10 Years Guarantee, 6/8 Full hollow.
Soap: Williams Tonsorial Shaving Soap
Brush: Alpha Brush T-400(Prototype) Silvertip Badger
Aftershave: Vintage Williams Aqua Velva

Had a very relaxing shave with this setup. The Tonsorial shaving soap definitely needs to be pulled out more often. The lather this soap produces is absolutely wonderful and most definitely on par with any of my premium soaps. I still have 7 unused pucks in a barber pack in the basement, I think I'll be set for life....