The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

... a Rogues ramblings & some shave talk too!

1savvyRogue

Shave Member
Hi everyone I finally made it to here.
I have been shaving in the traditional manner for almost 2 years now. My buddy never really got me into it, but he had a DE in the bathroom and my fascination was peaked.
I can barely remember my dad using a DE but I do remember them in the bathroom, 60 years have fogged my recollections. I'll have to see if those razors are still about, might find my birth year Gillette, now wouldn't that be a treat.
I've had the fortune to have held down a good job here in Alberta for the last 20 years in the oil and gas industry (the first 20 years,not so great in the wage department) and it's allowed me to acquire some reputable hardware in this hobby and my other mistress, vinyl records. My thinking is get what I need now before I'm on a fixed income (retirement or a reasonable facsimile of retirement and can't afford some of the luxuries of either hobby.)
Needless to say my acquisition disorder is in full gear lol.
So about shaving.
I stayed away from the forums in the beginning for the most part mainly to just get my own groove so to speak. I think I started with a Rockwell but lusted for that Blackland Blackbird until it was in the den. I've been shaving with it going on 2 years now and honestly not too many bad shaves and if there was it was just me not paying attention. Used nothing but Silver Blues in her then started changing it up a bit with some Balzano's. Both have worked well for me.