The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Why I Started

Shavedawg

Shave Newbie
I apologize in advance for the long post. Being a new wet shaver, 3 1/2 months, I would like to document why I turned to wet shaving. I said in my introduction to the Cadre that wet shaving found me. I honestly believe that to be true.
I have always had a zest for life. Live life to the fullest so to speak. I'm a retired police officer due to a disability. I retired from a second career as a funeral director. Those to occupations really taught me how precious life is. My wife and I started to travel around the US in an RV full-time in 2017. We have seen some beautiful country. Big cities to small towns. Great people you name it. We have had a blast. We have met some awesome couples who are living the same life style we are living. We gather for Winter in Arizona every year and just have a great time.
In October of 2019 ,we had just arrived in our Winter home and were settling in. On October 22 after I awoke I suffered a massive heart attack. They call it a "widow maker". I was airlifted 100 miles to a heart hospital in Phoenix. I was rushed in the "Cath Lab" and had two stents placed. One to clear 100% blockage, the other to clear a 70% blockage. They call this type of heart attack a widow maker because people don't survive. The last thing I thought that day was having a heart attack. I had just played volleyball the day before. My wife and I are active hiking and what have you. Four days in the hospital I finally came home to a new life...changed life.