The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

The Wine Cellar

NurseDave

“Stefan’s Glitterbomb King”
Legacy
First Responder
Concierge
Intro - It’s been mentioned a few times that I should do some forum posts to share some basic wine knowledge. I’m not an expert, but I do enjoy wine as a hobby. To lay out my experience for you, we live not too far from Napa and that’s where I cut my wine chops so to speak. After many trips up there I started learning more and more, and eventually had official education resulting in a WSET (Wine & Spirit Education Trust) Level II certification. Think sommelier certification without the testing on service. My tastes are fairly limited, though I’ve tasted wines widely trying to expand them. I’m a red wine guy, and Napa area reds to be specific. I don’t like many wines from other areas and I can explain the differences later. I like the stereotypical big bold wines with Cabernet being at the top, then Merlot and Zinfandel. I do cellar (age) most of my wines, but this is a rarity in America. The typical wine purchase is something like <$12 and consumed within a few weeks of purchase. And especially when discussing storage I’ll be focused on those.

Lastly, I want to say, drink what you enjoy! If you found a $5 bottle that knocks your socks off, then you won the wine lottery. You’re getting enjoyment on the cheap! Personally I’ll drink a nice bold Cab with anything because I enjoy it. 44% of my cellar is Cabernet or a Cab blend. Fish? Cab. Cheese? Cab. Nothing? Cab. Obviously I do drink other wines, and will “pair” to some extent from time to time, but I drink what I like when I like to.

So far I'm working on topics Types of wine, How much to spend, Storage, Opening and serving a bottle, Drinking/pairing, and What to do with open wine.