The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Scotch experts

NurseDave

“Stefan’s Glitterbomb King”
Legacy
First Responder
Concierge
Ok, so there isn’t much hard liquor I like. Sitting here I realized I had Johnny Walker Black at a wedding and liked it enough that...well it was really good. So maybe I need to pursue this. I could just buy a bottle of black, but that’s not the cadre way. Any other whiskey I’ve tried I think I haven’t enjoyed. So I’m looking for you experts to tell me what it is about JW Black that I should be looking for to find other I like.

I’ve read it’s a blend of aged scotches. But other than that I don’t know what’s distinctive about it.

I'm not a scotch expert and I did not sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night. That said, I've never been impressed by the premium cost of Johnny. I don't buy it as I think that you're simply paying for what's on the label.

Is it good scotch? Yes.
Is it worth the bucks? YMMV but to me, no.

@Somnos

JW is a good Beginner Scotch before your palate adapts to more single malts IF you have not tried JW Red, then maybe Blue or Green but you are getting into some price.

Then move to maybe a Glenfiddich 12, as it is not too peaty, also try Haig, Glen Grant 10. Famous Grouse is another good blended. Also it is much like wine, swirl it in the glass to release bouquet, take a sip take it to the back of the tongue let it sit and you will pick up the notes. If it too strong at 1st add a drop of water let bloom a bit and move on

Single Malt is where the flavors are at. Blends are good though. A good beginner single malt is the Glenlivet. They have a few options you can try at varying price points.