The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Hello guys I’m new in this forum but having really hard time with my shaves. Please help

Maximo77w

Jr. Shave Member
Hello guys. I’m actually a rookie at wet shaving and have been trying to shave with a de razor for the past 3 months. My shaves sometimes got better and other times got bad. 2 weeks ago I was actually having decent shaves trying out different sample blades. I know my technique still sucks but trying different blades to see if I find any that could give me a smooth irritation free shave. Tried a polsilver and felt it was too sharp for me. Then I tried a personna lab blue and also felt it was really sharp blade for me which also got irritation on my chin area. Then I tried voskhod and for some reason that blade gave me the best and smoothest shaves without any irritation. Don’t know if my technique that week got better but since it’s a sample pack of blades I had to keep trying the rest of the blades. Tried astras sp but gave me really bad irritation on my chin and also felt it was an aggressive blade for my face. Today I tried a Wilkinson Sword and it got even worse. For some reason every shave just keeps getting worse. I honestly don’t know what I’m doing wrong. The dam chin area it’s just a dam nightmare again for me. I thought I had this but it just keeps getting worse.

The blade is just NOT GLIDING through the whiskers on my chin area. I swear I try not to put any pressure but the blade just does not glide through...I had to stop because I was already feeling burning on my face. After the “supposed” second WTG pass.

Please tell me what I’m doing wrong. I’m just frustrated again with my coarse whiskers and really sensitive skin.