The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Whiskey choice for a wedding gift.

aspirin54

Veteran
So I have a friend who is getting married in September. His soon to be wife and him are planning on drinking whiskey at the wedding instead of champagne. As a glass artists, I will be making them custom glasses for their wedding. But the other groomsmen and I wanted to get them a nice whiskey for their wedding. I know he picked up Green Spot for the wedding and was interested in trying Yellow Spot. Anyone ever had both of those? I'm still new to the whiskey game myself, so I haven't spent a lot of money on a bottle just yet, but he has been drinking whiskey for quite some time now. Other than Yellow Spot, any suggestions? Thanks!

How much are you looking to spend?

There's good whiskey at many price points. If he's super interested in the Yellow Spot, and it's not something he would splurge on for himself, I'd go with that. Otherwise, there's SO much to choose from.

Cost is definitely important to understand. But I would recommend a nice single malt scotch.

Yellow Spot and Green Spot are Soooooooo Goooooooood! If it's Irish Whisky, my favorite in that price range is Redbreast 12 or 15. Depending on how high you want to go. Redbreast single pot is like drinking liquid caramel! But it's booze.

If it's Bourbon, there are so many options that will be under budget. If the bride and groom are scotch people that's a whole other animal and price point.

Probably somewhere between $100-200 range. I don't want to have to get stuck eating too much if someone backs out on their share. Could be one bottle, or could be multiple.