The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Question

John Paul

Jr. Shave Member
I started what Shaving 20 years ago with the Merkur 34C. I have a very thick fast-growing Mediterranean beard and Charles at QED Recommended the Merkur progress which I’ve been using now for about 15 years daily. I just wondered what you guys would recommend? A guy on badgerandblade recommended the Mercury slant, But I didn’t care for it. I tried my old 34C yesterday and it just doesn’t cut it the way the progress does on setting number three.

I started what Shaving 20 years ago with the Merkur 34C. I have a very thick fast-growing Mediterranean beard and Charles at QED Recommended the Merkur progress which I’ve been using now for about 15 years daily. I just wondered what you guys would recommend? A guy on badgerandblade recommended the Mercury slant, But I didn’t care for it. I tried my old 34C yesterday and it just doesn’t cut it the way the progress does on setting number three.
Welcome. I have all the Merkur razors you mentioned. I've been using the 34C about once a week for a long time but I use the slant and the Progress sometimes too. I like all three. You can change the setting on the Progress so just as a short answer I would suggest that one. There's another thing to consider. Do you always use the same kind of blade? I've found, and others also, that different blades pair better or worse with different razors. You could consider purchasing a blade sampler pack to experiment with. Also, my skin and whiskers have changed over the years. Some razors and blades I used to enjoy no longer give me the same experience.
Thanks for your post.

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk

Last edited: