The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Primo's Journal du Jour...

primotenore

Shave Member
Good morning TSC,
Encouraged by my friend and fellow TSC
member, @Bill M, yours truly, Primo is starting his own shave journal.
Quick bio, I have been shaving with traditional gear since 2014. In the 40+ years prior, I, like many of you, hated shaving and only shaved when it was necessary.
For my humble beginnings using my grandfather's Norelco electric (two heads, power cord required) then the typical succession of razors, Trac II, Sensors, 5-bladed carts, etc.
All that has changed since 2014, when I purchased the Chinese Weishi, sold under the moniker "Micro-touch One", and the rest is shaving history. I was afflicted with BAD, RAD, SAD, like many, but these are now, more or less, :unsure: under control. My most recent "acquisition disorder" is fragrances. I have become a real "frag-head", finding myself posting and perusing sites like basenotes.net and Fragrantica.com
My lathers must be shiny and well-hydrated. My brushes must have great flow-through and buttery-soft knots. I tend to Russian steel for my DE's and for my straights, I am all over the place.
Vintage gear is near and dear to me as well.
As this journal evolves, I hope to educate and inform and with a little "primo-luck", entertain. ;)

Let's get started:

Monday, October 11
QS4uzpn.jpg

AoS Oud~~Simpson CH3~~Gustave Lalune Mon Fier Destrier~~Montale Aoud Cuir d'Arabie
I was just discussing this razor with Bill yesterday, so that
inspired me to whip it out...(easy there...)
The razor is "drop-forged". This was a term I had heard of, but never
associated with straight razors.
The process involves (and this is very
crudely
explained) literally dropping a weighted form onto the blank
over and over, until the shape has been formed.