The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

How old might this Williams be?

fhalden

"Like BarberDave… I make my own fun”
Okay. I have finally pulled the trigger on answering for myself the eternal questions and controversies that surround tallow Williams. I found a NOS puck of the tallow formula. Or I should say perhaps, *a* tallow formula. I'm not an expert on Williams, just, up until now, a fascinated observer. I have a recent puck, also unused. What I do not know is how old this tallow puck is. So here are some pics, in case there are clues that might indicate it's age to a learned Williams user. Any help would be appreciated.

I do not expect to emerge from this exploration with some new truth. What will change is that, in the years to come, I can actually have an opinion about Williams, tallow and new. I do not recall ever taking part in a discussion of it.

After all these years, I have no excuse for this ignorance. Now I just have to figure out how exactly I want to try them out. I'm not going to do the one-half the face with one, one half with the other thing. The experience of my left face and right face are very different. And in my experience, I can pursue shaving as quantifiably as possible, or I can enjoy the shave. So I'm going to use stuff I know well as far as equipment, a synthetic brush, I'm still pondering the razor.

It would be cool to know how old this soap is, as accurately as possible. I know only that it is newer than June 1974, when UPC codes came out, but that's it.

So, I want to do this right. I need to educate myself about Williams like I did with so many of wetshaving 's classically controversial products.