The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Brush biology...

Hi, I'm new to the cadre, just wanted to say thanks with my first topic post for all the comments and great advice on here - i've learnt plenty ?

So, is it possible to soften the backbone of a synthetic knot with use or is it fixed? Badgers age well (broken in) is there a little flex in the synths? I'm using a yaqi tuxedo which is super soft and luxurious but the backbone is a little too much for my liking (i also have a badger silvertip).
Thanks again
Dan

Hi Dan! Thanks for feeling free to ask questions! Definitely take advantage of the shave wisdom of this group of folks when needed!

I use synthetics regularly. I only have experience with two types of knots though - from Razorock and a Yaqi. I have used the Razorock (Plissoft knot) for over a year and found that, for the most part, it is the same exact knot that it was a year ago. It might have only slightly “broken in” in that it is a touch more floppy and a touch less springy in the fibers.

Hi Chris, thanks! Which do you think affects the backbone most - size of the knot or the loft? How come there is no loft measure?
Thanks again
Dan

Hi Chris, thanks! Which do you think affects the backbone most - size of the knot or the loft? How come there is no loft measure?
Thanks again
Dan

I am by no means an expert in brushes, mind you. If I had to pick one major factor in backbone, from your two options (really there are many factors - knot type, hair/fiber thickness, knot density, loft, free loft, glue bump, etc.), it would be loft. Specifically free loft; that is how much loft remaining that is not held or covered by the brush handle.

There should be knot size and loft height listed for all brushes, depending on the site you’re looking at.