The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Are groovy bowls better?

Jellodancer

Shave Member
Hello ladies and gentlemen of the Cadre. I’m at the point where I need to buy something, and I’m eyeing some new shaving bowls. I’m seeing more and more bowls with grooves, ridges, or some kind of textured bottoms. I have no experience with these, but have never had a problem creating a great lather with my smooth bottom bowls. Are the grooves truly a new and improved version of shaving bowl? Do any of you fine people think you get a superior lather with them? I would love to hear some feedback before I make a purchase. What say you all?

I only use a bowl when using a sample as I'm a face latherer. I do think that some ridges or whatever makes for more action in whipping the latherer. I have done a lather in smooth bowls without issue but when there is some form of "friction" it seems to whip up better/quicker. Current bowls I have are the copper Turkish bowl and the new one from Stirling.

So there is a difference. Thank you! Do you notice any difference between the copper or ceramic? I know French chefs use copper mixing bowls for some reason.....

You may get other opinions on whether there is a difference. That was merely my opinion. As far as a need for copper I doubt it matters as they coat the inside with tin anyway. I do think a less smooth (metal over ceramic) will do better due to friction the roughness of the surface area.

I too noticed a difference when I switched from smooth to textured. I use metal for the weight. My ceramic bowl wasn’t deep enough for bigger brushes. Plus I don’t want to drop a heavy bowl on the glass sink.

groovy.jpg