The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Any Indian Artifact Collectors, Flintknappers or Blacksmiths on TSC

Blade-meister

First Responder
Hobbyist
I collect Indian Artifacts and wonder if anyone on TSC also collects any? I'm also into flintknapping and blacksmithing.

For me it all started when I was in first grade and my Dad took me out for the first time to look for arrowheads in a plowed field. He'd done it all his life and it was one of those passing it down moments. Here are the first arrowheads I ever found. Needless to say I was hooked.

Finding arrowheads got me to wondering how they were made so I began learning Flintknapping and have spent about 17 years trying to master this craft. Here's a spread of points I've made

I've been blacksmithing since 2016 roughly. I got into the blacksmithing because I was set up next one at a show we were both demonstrating at. I thought I might be able to do it so I started buying tools and a forge and got to it. I just made my first knife this year after spending 3 years learning how to do a lot of decorative things. Here's a picture of my main anvil a pre 1898 German Trenton. And no, I have no plans of going on Forged and Fire

https://d28lcup14p4e72.cloudfront.net/225400/4323014/DSCN5287.jpg

So if you are into any of these things or interested, feel free to jump in and just talk about them in this thread.

Have not found any in quite a long time and I know I don’t have any that I have found left. I have a bit of Native heritage and have always been fascinated by the culture and it’s art and artifacts. Thanks hank you for sharing!

Very cool about the blavksmithing. Did you take any courses,or have someone mentor you or was it self taught tile and error?