The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Two questions ...about brushes and repair

Z-2

Hello,

My first question is about synthetics. I am completely new to synthetic brushes, and I have own only 1 - Yaqi Tuxedo 24 mm, which I like. My question is to you, more experienced users - what should be my next choice? I see a lot of different synthetic hair types, and I may get mew or timber wolf. Or maybe pony, mink or snow leopard?
I prefer more softer knot and maybe more floppy for face lathering.

My second question is about one razor, which I've got a while back. This is 40s Super Speed, which seems in very good condition, except one very deep scratch (to brass) on the door. It is little annoying. Are there any method to repair it? I will appreciate all suggestions !

qt.png

I'm no expert, whatsoever, but regarding the brush question... I find the Yaqi Mew Brown (synth Moka or Purple haze has this) to be softer their others I've tried, with a little less backbone. The brown knot (that emulate horse hair) SHOULD be their floppiest, I'm my memory is correct. Someone here uses, and likes, the Yaqi Rainbow (Brown synth). Hopefully they'll chime in.

Additionally, PAA makes a handful of brushes which all tend towards floppy IMO. Their Green Ray is a Brown Synth that is supposed to be pretty soft and floppy (and quite the looker, imo). @MarkB could weight in with much more detail, as he has most (if not all) of the PAA brushes.

In the end, you'd do well waiting for some more seasoned responses. My experience is quite finite compared to many of the seasoned veterans here. [emoji106]

______