The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

They don't go quietly...and yet they are still not heard

dangerousdon

"I am Udderly Insufferable”
Veteran
Concierge Emeritus
My wife forwarded me the following article last night...

Army's 'Captain America' dies by suicide after nearly a dozen combat tours

It's one of probably thousands of articles that get posted, printed, and only sometimes read. There is probably more awareness about suicide among servicemembers now than there has ever been. But is it really enough?

Most of you all know that I am a Veteran. I was actually a peacetime servicemember serving in the Marine Corps during the 90s. I am also a War Time Veteran. A coupe years after my enlistment with the Marine Corps, I joined the Louisiana Army National Guard so I could get Tuition Exemption for college. A few years later I found myself deployed to Afghanistan.

During my time in the service, I have had the pleasure of knowing some of the best people I have ever had the privilege of knowing. I can think back on all those who I remember. I had some good times, some bad times, and some really great times. I have wonderful memories of my buddies. Of all those I have known...off the top of my head...I can think of four of my buddies that have committed suicide. If I think harder...I can probably think of more. Four servicemen! There are some people who go their entire lives without knowing a soul who has taken their life. I know at least four.