The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

The Long and Short of it(What Stocks are you watching)

uacowboy

"The Minuteman"
Concierge Emeritus
Hobbyist
Welcome to the TSC Stock Market thread. With the crazy things that have been going on and generating news coverage lately like what happened with the GameStop stock, I was thinking it might be cool to have a space around here to discuss things we are watching.

Keep in mind that what we post here is not intended to be any kind of expert advise or anything like that, but if you have something you are watching and want to chat about it, maybe share what made you take interest, then feel free to post!

I'll start off by saying that i am very new to the Stock market myself. Just started to really pay attention to it last fall. My goal right now is to learn the ins and outs, maybe make a little money, and then once i feel comfortable, start taking a more active roll in how my retirement account through work is invested.

When it comes to work programs, if they match ANY portion of your contribution (more is better, obviously) get in as fast as you can sign the paperwork. I'm not up on the ins and outs of the US tax system, so can't advise you on what funds/stocks you should hold in what investment vehicle, but it's never too late to start planning for retirement.

As for me, I don't play the market for quick bucks, but invest for the long haul. My days of spending 2-4 months researching any particular US/CAD stock before buying it are done. In those days (over 15 years ago), I would buy ~10k of a stock and hold it for ~2 years before selling. Made some good money over a 4 year span (1 big loser, 3-4 break-evens, and about a dozen winners), but it was too much work.