The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

It's a sad, sad day..."Kentucky Bourbon Warehouse Collapses, Spilling 9,000 Barrels of Whiskey"

dangerousdon

"I am Udderly Insufferable”
Veteran
Concierge Emeritus
My favorite whiskey in the whole world is likely housed in this warehouse. I have been buying my 18 year old Sazerac Rye Whiskey for almost 20 years now. When I first discovered this "nectar of the gods" I paid only $27.00 a bottle. The last bottle I was able to find and purchase was about $180.00 retail. It often goes for a lot more on the secondary market. And that's IF you can find it. I like this better than Pappy Van Winkle 23 year old bourbon. My beloved Sazerac 18 just became more rare! At either rate...there were many a bourbon and rye that are now...hopefully...being consumed by heavenly hosts. Brings new meaning to the term "Angels' Share."

Louisville, Ky. (AP) -- Thousands of whiskey barrels crashed into a massive heap Friday when a large section of a decades-old storage warehouse collapsed at a distillery in the heart of Kentucky bourbon country.

The damaged warehouse at the Barton 1792 Distillery in Bardstown held about 18,000 barrels, and it appeared that up to half the barrels inside were affected, the distillery's owner said.

"We are assessing how many of the impacted barrels can be recovered," said Amy Preske, a spokeswoman for Sazerac, a Louisiana-based spirits company. "A mix of various distilled products at various ages were stored in that warehouse."
Read the rest of the article at: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-22/portion-of-kentucky-bourbon-warehouse-collapses

Saw it on the news. Sorry Don. A moment of silence for you
1f60e.png

Dang...that stinks...