The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Imperia La Roccia

Clemson Tiger

Jr. Shave Member
So- I’ve seen mixed reviews and there seems to be a solid polarizing split objectively regarding this stone. Half the reviews I see “ka-ka” this stone saying it chips blades, there’s people with microscopes showing the damage the ILR causes. Another guy will use it - wait til the blade sticks- increase the flow of running water- strop the blade- then once more on the stone under running water.

I guess the question I’m asking is are these stones being misused or are the stones garbage? I have zero experience but I’ve been eyeballing ILR’s in the process of window-shopping for A-NAT’s 😉 and I’ve never seen anything so polarizing in terms of honing- Tabac and Veg are polarizing, but it’s subjective- stones leave a tangible visible result which either is or isn’t.

I was just wondering if anyone else has any experience with these stones- or knowledge as to whether bad slabs were cut & ILR is over that hump? I’m just curious what y’all’s take on them would be. As a cautious buyer, on a 50/50 split of yea or nay, I tend to err on the side of caution and think that ILR’s are inconsistent in terms of a product. It’s also possible people are slurring a stone that doesn’t need to be slurried.

Thanks for any insight folks! Happy honing!