The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Hi, I have a question right away

Dundee

Shave Newbie
Hi there,

A friend of mine on another forum directed me towards Dave's Straight Razor Shaving video course. Now, I have been shaving with a straight razor since 2020, but I never had the chance to learn how from a comprehensive source like this, so I have been trying to relearn. I tend to get DFS shaves pretty consistently, but rarely BBS. Hoping to change that.

One thing I wonder is if my razors are sharp enough. I have never had a new razor or one honed by a honemeister. I started with a Gold Dollar and moved on to some vintage razors I restored. I reset the bevels on all of them myself, and figured I did a pretty good job since I can pass a hair hanging test with them, and get DFS shaves, but I have no way of know for sure without a frame of reference.

But on the topic of sharpness, I recently made a denim strop as Dave recommends in the video series. Before that, I have used a paddle strop work suede kangaroo leather that I won knife a knife sharpening contest. I tried the denim because I thought maybe the slack of a hanging strop would wrap around the edge apex and create a microconvex that would make it sharper. I seem to remember reading an article on Science of Sharp saying this was pivotal for straight razors and thought maybe I wasn't getting that with my paddle strop.