The Shaving Cadre

Welcome to The Shaving Cadre, a forum dedicated to gentlemanly discourse about wet shaving and other topics of common interests. Membership is always free so register today and join in the fun

Another fella from Southern California!

Crag

Shave Newbie
Hello everyone!

I'm Crag, Matt Manzano on all the Facebook forums and Titanic_Treasures on eBay. I have been wet-shaving since 2007 and have been a member of nearly every shaving forum / group I could find, sans Reddit, since I just can't figure that site out...lol. I'm a 911 Emergency Number Professional and a member of NENA, which sets standards for 911 call centers known as PSAP's in the USA and surrounding countries. I am a solution architect and design multi-site deployments of the 911 system for governments, universities, and small municipalities alike.

I mainly use a DE, but on occasion will use a Feather DX razor...I've had straights, but my hands are too shaky to really use them efficiently since I can't really strop them properly. I had an accident changing a Nitrogen H Tank that left me with some residual nerve damage in my right hand, so I've adapted to using DE's primarily. I prefer fan shaped badger 2-band knots near 26-28mm, but have a fair few Synthetics, too. I'm totally addicted to shaving and am on an ultra high ingredient soap kick right now. I've acquired Tallow+Steel, Sebum, Nuavia, THB Tangerine Creeper, MdC Agrumes, and a good sized sample of Original, and a few other higher end soaps, over the last few weeks.

I'm hunting for a T+S Kyoto and Yakushima set, MdC Vetiver, and pretty much every citrus scent I can find....lol

I use Wizamet blades, and primarily face-lather, though I did just acquire a scuttle and a ceramic bowl so I'm looking forward to trying that out. My water is super hard where I live, so my soaps/creams need to be tolerant of that.